Fatal Conveniences

Author : Darin Olien

Publisher: HarperCollins

Format: Paperback

Genre : Self help

My Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐

My Take

Fatal Conveniences as the title reads is an insightful and informative read from author Darin Olien. Let me start with the cover page that is in red, which marks danger. The author has chosen it to indicate that the world is heading towards danger at an alarming rate with no clue given to us.

The book covers almost all the products that one uses in our day today life. I like the author’s way of explaining. He first let’s the reader know what the product he’s talking about is, next is I’ll effects it spills on humans and environment and finally what we should do? This gives a clear picture of what we are using and how it is all set to harm us. Throughout the book, the author goes on to suggest healthy alternatives that can be replaced in place of these Fatal Conveniences.

Darin’s work is well researched and organized., with each portion of the book giving us valuable insights. Of all the products that the book covers, the water proof clothes and its effects grabbed my attention instantly. I was surprised knowing how the chemicals (PFAS) used in them not just affects our skin but can even turn carcinogenic and be associated with various other ailments.

I suggest that the book be slowly, as every page has a takeaway for the readers. My favourite is the DIY section that is full recipes where one can make some products easily with natural ingredients. Also the author has provided some vegan products/brands that one can try and are absolutely safe.

The message that ” Every Convenience comes with a price tag, More the convenience higher the price… in terms of health ” has been conveyed well.

What could be better?

Although I liked the way the book has come out I feel a bigger font would have given me a better reading experience.

My Verdict

A must read informative book that is an eye opener for the present generation to read, understand,  analyze and  embrace healthy Conveniences over Fatal ones to simplify Life……

Leave a comment